## Cosmic Ray Origin - beyond the standard models

- second edition -

San Vito di Cadore (Dolomites, Italy)
18-24 September 2016

One hundred years after their discovery great progress has been made in understanding the origin of cosmic rays, but many questions remain. There is now convincing evidence for the long-suspected role of supernova remnants, but it is also clear that not all remnants contribute equally or at the same level throughout their evolution (indeed, there are questions about their overall efficiency as accelerators). In addition to supernova remnants there are strong hints that other categories of sources, such as pulsar wind nebulae, OB star associations, Gamma-Ray Bursts etc, may contribute. This conference is held to critically examine the contributions of all possible sources to cosmic-ray production.

## **Scientific Organizing Committee:**

Elena Amato (INAF-Arcetri)

**Mario Bertaina (INFN Torino)** 

Roger Blandford (co-chair) (Stanford University)

Francesco Giordano (University and INFN Bari)

Isabelle Grenier (AIM, Univ. Paris Diderot & CEA Saclay)

Günter Sigl (University of Hamburg)

**Anatoly Spitkovsky (Princeton University)** 

**Dave Thompson** (Nasa Goddard Space Flight Center)

Omar Tibolla (chair) (MCTP, University of Chiapas)

**Jacco Vink** (University of Amsterdam)

Heinz Völk (MPIK)

**Amanda Weinstein** (Iowa State University)

## **Local Organizing Committee:**

Denis Bastieri (Padova Univ. & INFN)

Sandra Calore (INFN Padova)

Alessandro De Angelis (INFN Padova & LIP Lisboa)

Sarah Kaufmann (MCTP, University of Chiapas)

Karl Mannheim (ITPA, Würzburg Univ.)

Karen Salome Caballero Mora (Univ. of Chiapas)

Massimo Persic (co-chair) (INAF/INFN Trieste & Bologna U.)

Omar Tibolla (chair) (MCTP, University of Chiapas)

Andrea Vacchi (INFN Trieste)

**Arnulfo Zepeda (Cinvestav, MCTP)** 

## **Confirmed invited speakers:**

Luke Drury, Pasquale Blasi, Andrew Strong, Eli Waxman, Giovanni Bignami, David Eichler, Marco Tavani, Yasunobu Uchiyama, Andrei Bykov, Mikhail Malkov, Piergiorgio Picozza, Hyesung Kang, Alberto Carramiñana, Peter Meszaros

http://www.crbtsm.eu





























